The Temple is built on Lingyun Mountain of Wugu Dist. behind Lingyun Temple for people to worship Guanyin Bodhisatva. It was ﬁrst build in the second year of Xuantong of the Qing dynasty (1910) and renovated in 1914 to improve the main halls and buildings. It was further enlarged in 1918 to add the halls for Chan, dining, living, paying thanks as well as Kaishan Courtyard and Lengyan Pavilion, etc. At the same ime, the road to the Temple was also improved for cars to be driven to the foot of the Mountain easily. At present, Lingyun Chan Temple has a very large scale covering an area of about 3 hectares with good faciliies. The surrounding areas are very beauiful, and the temple has atracted a lot of pilgrims. Used to be one of eight major points of interest in Taiwan, It is now one of the four major Buddhist temples in Taiwan.